Research Guides: REL 250: Lewis: Social Sciences Databases

Academic Databases

The databases listed below will help you with your research on specific groups or social issues. Academic Search Complete and JSTOR search multiple disciplines at once and will require you to use filters and advanced searches to narrow down your research. The others all search within a specific social sciences discipline, meaning that some will be more relevant than others for your topics.

Finally, CQ Researcher is a really great resource for doing background reading. It contains high quality and extensively researched articles on many social issues, including pro/con discussions. CQ Researcher is more in-depth than much of what you will find thorough Google, but the articles are NOT peer-reviewed research.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 3,800, as well as full text for over 3,200 scholarly journals and general magazines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Sociological Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
Sociology (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
PsycINFO (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals from nearly 50 countries.
Political Science (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Covers the literature of political science and international relations, including topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, environmental policy, and hundreds of related topics.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Coverage of political and social issues, with reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. *NOTE: This database does NOT peer-reviewed research.