Research Guides: REL 250: Lewis: Sources for Exegesis Paper

Sources to Use for Exegesis Paper

Bible Dictionary and Encyclopedias:

The Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary (ABD)
Call Number: Tarver Reference: REF BS 440.A54 1992 (Volumes 1-6)
The Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible (IDB)
Call Number: Tarver Reference: REF BS440 .I63 (Volumes 1-5)
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible (NIDB)
Call Number: Tarver Reference: REF BS440 .N445 2006 (Volumes 1-5)
Mercer Dictionary of the Bible (MDB)
Call Number: Tarver Reserve: REF BS440 .M429 1990
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible (OEBB)
Call Number: Available Online and Tarver Reference: REF BS 440.093 2011 (Volumes 1-2)
Encyclopaedia Judaica
Call Number: Available Online
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament
Call Number: Tarver Reference: REF BS440 .B5713 (Volumes 1-15)
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament
Call Number: Tarver Reference: REF PA881 .K513 (Volumes 1-10)

Commentaries:

Commentaries will give you verse-by-verse commentary on your particular passage; however they will also supply other information in the introduction to the biblical book and reflections at that may come at the end of the section.

In Reference Area:

The New Interpreter's Bible (NIB)
Call Number: Tarver Reference: REF BS 491.2 .N484 1994 (Volumes 1-12)
Mercer Commentary on the Bible (MCB)
Call Number: Tarver Reserve: REF BS 491.2 .M47 1995
Mercer Commentary on the New Testament (MCNT)
Call Number: Tarver Reserve: REF BS2341.2 .M47 2003
(MCNT and MCOT have exactly the same material as MCB, but they are packaged differently)
Mercer Commentary on the Old Testament (MCTO)
Call Number: Tarver Reserve: REF BS1151.2 .M47 2003
(MCNT and MCOT have exactly the same material as MCB, but they are packaged differently)
Etz Hayim: Torah and Commentary
Call Number: Tarver Reference: REF BS1222.L54 2001
Conservative Jewish
The JPS Torah Commentary Series
Call Number: Tarver Reference: Starts at REF BS1235.3 S325 1989 (5 volumes)
Women's Bible Commentary
Call Number: Tarver Reference: REF BS491.3.W66 2012
The IVP Women's Bible Commentary
Call Number: Tarver Reference: REF BS521.4.I97 2002
The Women's Torah Commentary
Call Number: Tarver Reference: REF BS1225.3 .G578 2000
The Torah: A Women's Commentary
Call Number: Tarver Reference: REF BS1225.53 .T675 2008

In the Stacks:

Look for the volume on your biblical book in the Interpretation Series. Individual books are also available in the JPS Bible Commentary Series. There are a number of other fine commentaries available as well. Choose the most recent ones. Nothing from Calvin or Spurgeon! Make sure you know the perspective of the publishing house.

Journal Articles:

ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials PLUS (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on your specific passage through ATLA.

Electronic Resources:

(Suggested resources and notes are from Dr. Bratcher.)

The Text This Week
This site does the work for you, almost. For specific texts, links are included to interpretive tools, sermons, and even journal articles found in ATLA more. Please, use the contemporary sources, not the early sources listed near the top of each page. No to Matthew Henry or Charles Spurgeon.
StepBible.org
From Tyndale House, the Bible online that identifies the Greek and Hebrew words for you and tells you where else the word appears in the Bible (concordance).
BibleGateway.com
Access to various Bible translations.
Interlinear Bible
Contains line-by-line translations of the Bible from Hebrew and Greek into English.