Offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. These resources come from contributing organizations such as university libraries, which include many primary source documents and other scholarly materials. The Hathi Trust categorizes its materials using subject headings like those found in a library catalog.
Website run by the National Archives and Records Association, which is a branch of the United States Government. You can search for documents related to the government, military, and other important historical events. Contains a number of online digitized exhibits.
The DPLA aggregates millions of documents from its member institutions (of which the Hathi Trust is a member). These can be searched using keywords and narrowing it down by collection and by organization.
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. It offers a wide-range of documents on a variety of different subjects, which are broken down by geography and time-period.
Provides access to millions of digitized objects – books, music, artworks and more – from EU member nations. The platform is searchable in English, but many written items will be in their original languages.
Sponsored by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, this site includes digitized primary sources from several collections. Items include texts, images, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century.
Searchable access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912. America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper provides information on domestic and foreign life. Users can track the major political, social, and military stories of the day, along with the editorial comment, humor, literature, and even gossip related to them.
A source for Western European (mainly primary) historical documents transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated that shed light on key happenings within the respective countries and within the broadest sense of political, economic, social, and cultural history. The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
This collaborative project resulted in a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through Reconstruction. The two sites have the same scope, but different content. Cornell University also has a portal to this project.
Contains letters and papers on a variety of Civil War topics and people, ranging from Stonewall Jackson to cadet life during the war. While not all items are offered in full text, descriptions are given of other items that may be found at the VMI archives.
Part of the Corpus of American Civil War Letters Project (CACWL), this is a collection of thousands of letters written by Civil War soldiers who wrote "by ear." Almost all of these men were army privates, and their letters reveal a great deal about the lives and motivations of the Civil War's common soldiers.
Long running online resource that contains millions of digital objects from many different cultural heritage organizations. Searching can be a bit cumbersome and digital resources are not always described comprehensively.