HIS 295: The Historian's Craft

The Historical and Cultural Organizations Directory provides links and information for over 600 cultural and historical institutions statewide. This includes archives, libraries, museums, historical societies, and historic sites.

This is your portal to some of Georgia's most important historical documents, from 1733 to the present. The Virtual Vault provides virtual access to historic Georgia manuscripts, photographs, maps, and government records housed in the state archives.

Mercer University maintains a library and archives of primary and secondary research materials related to the university and the Baptist community. The collection is located on the third floor of Mercer University's Tarver Library.

Located a short drive away in Morrow, the Georgia Archives identifies, selects, preserves, and makes accessible records that constitute Georgia's recorded history.

The Middle Georgia Archives is devoted to documenting the history of Middle Georgia and to serving as a resource center for archival and manuscript collections in Middle Georgia.

Located in Milledgeville, GCSU's holdings include the Flannery O’Connor collection, Paul D. Coverdell collection, local and regional historical collections, Georgia College Archives, rare books and the Flannery O’Connor Room.

Located in Savannah, the GHS collects manuscripts relating chiefly to Georgia and Savannah, including diaries and other papers of families, plantation and business records, minutes and other records of organizations, and official and semi-official records of the colony and state of Georgia. Contains material from 1740 to the present.

Located in Atlanta, GSU's collections include labor and the workplace in the Southeast; 20th century American popular music; Georgia women's political movements; interviews and associated papers relating to Georgia government, politics, and political movements; photographic images of Atlanta and its citizens; social change; rare books; and oral histories.

Located in Athens, the numerous UGA collections cover 18th-20th century America, with emphasis on Georgia and the southeastern states. Included are records of organizations, unpublished memoirs and diaries, legal records, and audio-visual materials. Topics range from military and political history to education to theater.

Located in Atlanta, the Emory collections hold over 200,000 printed volumes, over 1,200 manuscript collections, photographs, motion picture film, audio recordings, and other visual media. Subject areas of special strength include literature and poetry, African American history and culture, Southern history, and modern politics.

Located in Atlanta, the Carter Library and Museum is part of the Presidential Library system administered by the National Archives and Records Administration. This museum houses artifacts from Carter's presidential term as well as over 27 million pages of archived documents.