LBST 280: Eskew

Compiled and edited under the act of Congress of June 30, 1906, by Francis Newton Thorpe
Use Volumes 1-7

Being a compilation of the earliest laws and orders of the General Court of Connecticut: also, the constitution, or civil compact, entered into and adopted by the Towns of Windsor, Hartford, and Wethersfield in 1638-9: to which is added some extracts from the laws and judicial proceedings of New-Haven Colony commonly called Blue laws

A collection of the earliest statutes and judicial proceedings of that colony; being an exhibition of the rigorous morals and legislation of the Puritans.
Edited, with an introduction, by Samuel M. Smucker.

Taken from the code of 1650 and the public records of the Colony of Connecticut previous to 1655, as printed in a compilation of the earliest laws and orders of the General Court of Connecticut, and from Dr. Lewis's book on Sunday legislation: also an extract from the constitution or civil compact adopted by the Towns of Hartford, Windsor and Wethersfield in 1838-9, showing the Biblical basis of the colony legislation: with an account of the persecution of witches and Quakers in New England and some extracts from the Blue Laws of Virginia

Printed in 1702 and now first reissued

Passed by the General assembly May 1716 to May 1749

containing all statutes of a general nature which were "usually in force on the fourteenth day of May, 1776, and not repugnant to the constitution, laws, and form of government since established in this state": with explanatory notes, connecting references, and references to English and American decisions, and the acts of the General assembly of Georgia: and an appendix, containing several statutes which the compiler believes to be in force and which are recommended by the Committee of Revision to the Legislature : as containing principles worthy of being incorporated in our laws: also the Petition of right -- the Bill of rights -- and the Charter of Georgia: with a copious index, compiled by the appointment and under the authority of the General Assembly

Savannah, James Johnston, 1763-1770

[and Statutes, colonial and revolutionary, 1768 to 1773, and 1774 to 1805].
Compiled and published by Allen D. Candler.
Volumes 18, 19 pt. 1, and 19 pt. 2 contain Colonial Laws

NOTE: Found in Archives of Maryland Online

NOTE: Found in Archives of Maryland Online. Not all documents are viewable online.

With notes and references to the acts of assembly and the Code, and to the principal English and Maryland cases
Volumes 1 and 2

Consisting of acts of Assembly under the proprietary government, resolves of Convention, the declaration of rights, the constitution and form of government, the Articles of Confederation, and, acts of Assembly since the revolution

NOTE: Found on Google Books

And which by experience have been found applicable to their local and other circumstances; and of such others as have since been made in England or Great-Britain, and have been introduced, used and practised, by the courts of law or equity; and also all such parts of the same as may be proper to be introduced and incorporated into the body of the statute law of the state.
Made according to the directions of the legislature, by William Kilty ... To which are prefixed, an introduction and lists of the statutes which had not been found applicable to the circumstances of the people: with full and complete indexes. Published under the directions of the governor and Council, pursuant to a resolution of the General assembly.

NOTE: Found on the State Library of Massachusetts

To which are prefixed the charters of the province: with historical and explanatory notes, and an appendix
Contains Volumes 1, 4-7, 9-21

Carefully collected from the publick records and ancient printed books, to which is added an appendix, tending to explain the spirit, progress and history of the jurisprudence of the state, especially in a moral and political view

Reprinted from the edition of 1672, with the supplements through 1686.
Published by order of the City council of Boston, under the supervision of William H. Whitmore, record commissioner. Containing a new and complete index

Together with the charter of the Council at Plymouth, and an appendix, containing the Articles of Confederation of the United Colonies of New England, and other valuable documents
Published agreeably to a resolve, passed April 5, 1836, under the supervision of William Brigham.

With sundry acts of Parliament: By order of the governor, Council and Assembly, pass'd October 16th. 1759.

including public and private acts and resolves and the royal commissions and instructions, with historical and descriptive notes, and an appendix
Volumes 1-4 contain Colonial Laws

Begun and held at Portsmouth, on Monday the seventh day of August, 1699

NOTE: This is found on the New Jersey State Library

From the time of the surrender of the government in the second year of the reign of Queen Anne, to this present time, being the twenty fifth year of the reign of King George the Second. Collected and published by order of the General assembly of the said province. With proper tables; and an alphabetical index containing all the principal matters in the body of the book
[Volume 1]

From the year 1753, being the twenty-sixth of the reign of King George the Second, where the first volume ends, to the year 1761, being the first of King George the Third. With proper tables; and an alphabetical index; containing all the principal matters in the body of the book: together with an appendix; containing the several acts of Parliament now in force in America, relating to His Majesty's forces, and the Articles of war. Collected and published by order of the General assembly of the said province
[Volume 2]

From the surrender of the government to Queen Anne, on the 17th day of April, in the year of our Lord 1702, to the 14th day of January 1776. To which is annexed, the ordinance for regulating and establishing the fees of the Court of Chancery of the said province: with three alphabetical tables, and an index
[Volume 3]

Examined and compared with the originals in the Secretary's Office

Compiled and translated from the original Dutch records in the office of the Secretary of State, Albany, N.Y. by E.B. O'Callaghan

Published according to an act of the General Assembly

Together with the titles of all such laws as are obsolete, expir'd, or repeal'd : and also, an exact table of the titles of the acts in force /
revised by commissioners appointed by an act of the General Assembly of the said province, for that purpose, and examined with the records, and confirmed in full assembly.

From the year 1715, to the year 1790, inclusive, now in force and use

NOTE: Found in Documenting the American South

Together with the titles of all such laws as are obsolete, expired, or repealed: with marginal notes and references, and an exact table to the whole

Passed between the years 1682 and 1700, preceded by Duke of York's laws in force from the year 1676 to the year 1682, with an Appendix containing laws relating to the organization of the provincial courts and historical matter.
Pub. under the direction of John Blair Linn, secretary of the commonwealth. Comp. and ed. by Staughton George, Benjamin M. Nead, Thomas McCamant.

And an appendix, containing such acts, and parts of acts, relating to property, as are expired, altered, or repealed. Together with the Royal, proprietary, city, and borough charters; and the original concessions of the Honourable William Penn to the first settlers of the province.
Published by order of Assembly

Published by order of Assembly

Comp. by James T. Mitchell & Henry Flanders
Volumes 2-8 contain Colonial Laws

A digest of the laws of Pennsylvania : from the year one thousand seven hundred to the twenty-eighth day of May, one thousand eight hundred and fifty-three
The first four editions by the late John Purdon, esq., the fifth, sixth and seventh by the Hon. George M. Stroud

From the year one thousand seven hundred, to the second day of April, one thousand eight hundred and eleven. With references to reports of judicial decisions in the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

Made and passed since the revision in June, 1767
Compard and cor[rected]. by the secretary

A facsimile reprint
With a bibliographical and historical introduction by Sidney S. Rider

Printed by order of the General assembly
Ed. by John Russell Bartlett, secretary of state
Volumes 1-8 contain Colonial Laws

At a sessions begun and holden at Charles-town the fifteenth day of November, in the seventh year of the reign of our Lord George the second, by the grace of God, of Great Britain, France and Ireland, King, defender of the faith, &c. Annoque Domini one thousand seven hundred and thirty-three. And from thence continued by divers prorogations and adjournments to the twenty-ninth of May, one thousand seven hundred and thirty-six

From its first establishment as a British province down to the year 1790, inclusive, in which is comprehended such of the statutes of Great Britain as were made of force by the act of assembly of 1712, with an appendix containing such other statutes as have been enacted or declared to be of force in this state, either virtually or expressly, to which is added the titles of all the laws (with their respective dates) which have been passed in South-Carolina down to the present time, also the Constitution of the United States with the amendments thereto, and likewise the newly adopted constitution of the state of South-Carolina, together with a copious index to the whole
NOTE: Found at Archive.org

Being a collection of all the laws of Virginia, from the first session of the legislature, in the year 1619: published pursuant to an act of the General Assembly of Virginia, passed on the fifth day of February one thousand eight hundred and eight
Volumes 1-13

With a table of the principal matters. Published under inspection of the judges of the High Court of Chancery, by a resolution of General Assembly, the 16th day of June 1783

Compiled in 1694

Lavves diuine, morall, and martiall, &c