The Swilley Library has 20 computer workstations with the software package Accordance. These are on the second floor and in the 24-hour study area on the first floor.
Accordance contains these resources that we also have in print:
Note: Accordance is not web-based and can only be used in the library
This will help you find where a particular word appears in the Hebrew Bible:
The Englishman's Hebrew Concordance of the Old Testament by
This improved and revised edition of the standard reference work The Englishman's Greek Concordance features a new, larger format that makes referencing even easier. Coded to Strong's, it gives the reader with no knowledge of Greek unprecedented insight into the New Testament Greek. An invaluable tool for unearthing the rich meaning of the biblical language.
A Lexicon will give a definition and a little information about your word.
Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament by
An indispensable and incomparable reference work, this translation of the "Theologisches Handworterbuch zum Alten Testament" makes accessible for the first time in English a wealth of theological insight. In these volumes outstanding scholars provide in-depth and wide-ranging investigations of the historical, semantic, and theological meanings of Old Testament concepts. Well-organized and clearly written articles analyze a significant portion of the Old Testament vocabulary. This reference work can serve a wide audience, from professors and researchers to pastors and students of the Bible. Even readers with little or no knowledge of Hebrew can use it profitably. Whereas traditional lexicons do little more than offer possible translations in the light of etymological and grammatical evidence, "The Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament" goes further, evaluating each term's theological relevance by clearly describing its actual usage in the language. In the process, it makes available to readers in many form- and tradition-critical insights hitherto buried in scattered commentaries, monographs, Old Testament theologies, journal articles, etc. Thus the individual articles serve as concise, well-structured histories of research with conclusions, discussion of controversies, and references to the most important literature. The methodological repertoire of the "TLOT" is deliberately broad because today it is generally agreed that no single approach can fully illuminate a term's meaning. Assumptions that led to ill-advised short-cuts--e.g., the chimera of a basic meaning from which all other meanings developed--have given way to a methodological pluralism, that considers a term's significance from several points of view and thus does more justice to actual usage. Words were included because of their importance within the Hebrew Bible, not their suitability as elements of a secondary system of Old Testament theology. Since the entries are generally ordered according to roots--the traditional and sensible approach for Semitic languages--and many words are treated as derivatives, synonyms, or antonyms of the terms listed in the article titles, thousands of words can be considered in about 330 articles. These other words can easily be found in the index. Besides examining the key verbs, nouns, and adjectives, the "TLOT" examines theologically noteworthy pronouns and particles in their own entries. "Like a diamond, highly prized for its fine cut, sparkle, setting, durability, utility, and symbolism, Jenni-Westermann's Theological Lexicon of the Old Testament has enormous value for a variety of reasons. Its rich data range from the historical to the theological, from the earliest occurrence of a particular word to its post-biblical use, from its distribution in the canon to its attestation in other literature from the ancient Near East, from its grammatical and syntactical peculiarities to its religious nuance. The contributors retain their individual perspectives, which give freshness and excitement to the whole. I have long wished for an English translation of this important work so that my divinity students would have access to it. Now, thanks to Hendrickson Publishers, that whish has been granted." --James L. Crenshaw, Robert L. Flowers Professor of Old Testament, Duke University
The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament by
Brill is pleased to present this Study Edition of the The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament in two handy volumes. It has proven to be a valuable resource for scholars and students. In this Study Edition the complete vocabulary of the Hebrew Bible, including those parts of books which are written in Aramaic, is available. The dictionary combines scholarly thoroughness with easy accessibility, and so meets the needs of a wide range of users. The enormous advances that have taken place in the field of Semitic linguistics since the days of the older dictionaries of Classical Hebrew are well documented and assessed, as well as the often detailed discussions in modern Bible commentaries of words where the meaning is particularly difficult. But the alphabetical ordering of entries rather than the traditional arrangement of words according to their roots is particularly helpful to the new student, and also saves the advanced user much time. This 2 volume edition is an unabridged version of the five volume edition of The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament.This set replacesn the 5-volume set with ISBN 9789004119567.
These 2 resources will give you in-depth information about your root.
Note: Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament and Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament are also available in the computer program Accordance, which is available on the library computers.
Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament by
For busy yet serious students of the Old Testament This extensive scholarly work includes discussions of every Hebrew word of theological significance in the Old Testament, plus brief definitions of all other words found in the Brown-Driver-Briggs (BDB) Hebrew Lexicon. Keyed to Strong's Concordance, the Theological Wordbook of the Old Testament has been a longtime favorite of serious students of the Bible--pastors and laypeople alike. The busy pastor or earnest Christian worker who has neither the time nor the background for detailed technical study, yet desires to understand important terms, will enjoy this practical resource. There are more than 1,400 articles written by 43 Old Testament scholars, plus some 400 sub-entries giving definitions only. The articles focus on theological meanings of importance and do not include lengthy, technical, linguistic discussions. Virtually exhaustive bibliographies of published material relating to the words discussed are also included, as is a special section of Aramaic words used in the Old Testament. The new edition of this monumental reference work combines two volumes into one, now making it even easier to use.
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament by
This multivolume work is still proving to be as fundamental to Old Testament studies as its companion set, the Kittel-Friedrich Theological Dictionary of the New Testament, has been to New Testament studies. Beginning with 'ābh ('āb), ?father,? and continuing through the alphabet, the TDOT volumes present in-depth discussions of the key Hebrew and Aramaic words in the Old Testament. Leading scholars of various religious traditions (including Roman Catholic, Lutheran, Reformed, Anglican, Greek Orthodox, and Jewish) and from many parts of the world (Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Israel, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States) have been carefully selected for each article by editors Botterweck, Ringgren, and Fabry and their consultants, George W. Anderson, Henri Cazelles, David Noel Freedman, Shemaryahu Talmon, and Gerhard Wallis. The intention of the writers is to concentrate on meaning, starting from the more general, everyday senses and building to an understanding of theologically significant concepts. To avoid artificially restricting the focus of the articles, TDOT considers under each keyword the larger groups of words that are related linguistically or semantically. The lexical work includes detailed surveys of a word?s occurrences, not only in biblical material but also in other ancient Near Eastern writings. Sumerian, Akkadian, Egyptian, Ethiopic, Ugaritic, and Northwest Semitic sources are surveyed, among others, as well as the Qumran texts and the Septuagint; and in cultures where no cognate word exists, the authors often consider cognate ideas. TDOT?s emphasis, though, is on Hebrew terminology and on biblical usage. The contributors employ philology as well as form-critical and traditio-historical methods, with the aim of understanding the religious statements in the Old Testament. Extensive bibliographical information adds to the value of this reference work. This English edition attempts to serve the needs of Old Testament students without the linguistic background of more advanced scholars; it does so, however, without sacrificing the needs of the latter. Ancient scripts (Hebrew, Greek, etc.) are regularly transliterated in a readable way, and meanings of foreign words are given in many cases where the meanings might be obvious to advanced scholars. Where the Hebrew text versification differs from that of English Bibles, the English verse appears in parentheses. Such features will help all earnest students of the Bible to avail themselves of the manifold theological insights contained in this monumental work.
Use these databases to find your journal article:
Abstracts on an array of subjects including antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology and philology, making it essential for religious or biblical research.
Watch this video to see how to search these databases for articles on a particular scripture passage.