Research Guides: Religion: Library Resources

Library Databases

ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials PLUS (EBSCO)
This database provides links to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Full-text is provided for more than 266,000 electronic articles and book reviews. Begun in 1949, indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century.
Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)
This collection includes nearly 300 full-text journals, with more than 250 peer-reviewed titles, covering topics in spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major denominations and religions. Most of the journals are also included in Academic Search Complete; however, some titles are unique to this collection.
New Testament Abstracts (EBSCO)
Abstracts of articles, book reviews, and software and more than 22,000 book summaries in the fields of New Testament general, Gospels-Acts, Epistles-Revelation, Biblical Theology and the World of the New Testament.
Old Testament Abstracts (EBSCO)
Old Testament Abstracts covers an array of subjects including antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology and philology, making it essential for religious or biblical research. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Abstracts are for journal articles and essays (chapters in books).
Eerdmans Bible Commentaries: New Testament
Commentaries on every book of the New Testament from international scholars, drawing on linguistic, literary, archaeological and historical scholarship.
Eerdmans Bible Commentaries: Old Testament
Commentaries on every book of the Old Testament from international scholars, drawing on linguistic, literary, archaeological and historical scholarship.
Digital Karl Barth Library
Features the entire corpus of Karl Barth's Gesamtausgabe - more than 40 volumes of sermons, letters, lectures, conversations, and academic writings.
Philosopher's Index (EBSCO)
This database covers the fifteen fields of philosophy: aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion. The Philosopher's Index contains research published since 1940 including nearly 570 journals from 43 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
Research Library (ProQuest)
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for over 2,800 scholarly journals and general magazines as well as abstracts and indexing for over 4,000 publications from 1971 forward. A separate subject module is available for Religion. This collection includes more than 150 journals, most of them available in full-text; covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many religions; and titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.
JSTOR
This database provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. This database provides archives of 31 journals related to including Journal of Biblical Literature with coverage back to 1890. The University Library subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII, and Health & General Sciences.
Anchor Yale Bible Commentaries
86 volumes that cover the Hebrew Bible, the New Testament, and the Apocrypha.
Anchor Yale Bible Dictionary
Six-volume dictionary of the Bible.
Religion & Philosophy Collection (EBSCO)
Articles on the spiritual, ethical, philosophical, cultural, and historical aspects of the world's major religions.
Religion (ProQuest)
Covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. Includes titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Journals, magazines, and newspapers in almost every subject area.
Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
Articles, books, and images on art research covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design.
Arts & Humanities (ProQuest)
Journal articles and books on applied arts and cultural studies, covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Continental Europe (ProQuest)
European-published articles on business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.
CQ Researcher
Political and social issues, with reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Ethnic Diversity Source (EBSCO)
Covers culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text (ProQuest)
The database offers full-text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.