History

Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1851 up to content in 2013. Provides full text and full image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.

Available on-campus only. Contains a number of primary sources, including census records, draft cards, service records, and marriage licenses. Best used for research prior to 1940.

Provides access to complete back files of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

A comprehensive bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Offers abstracts and citations for articles in roughly 1,800 journals published worldwide in history, related humanities, and the social sciences.

Provides citation information and abstracts for articles from over 2,600 journals, books, and dissertations published since 1955. Covers all aspects of world history from the fifteenth century forward (excluding the United States and Canada).

Features full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, as well as full text for more than 120 history periodicals. Further, the database contains 59,640 historical documents; more than 50,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.

This database contains American doctoral dissertation going back to 1861. This is a usual resource for extremely focused research in History.

Provides quick and easy access to modern and historical U.S. census data and demographic information. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Social Explorer brings you professional-quality demographic data from the most trusted sources, including the Decennial Census, American Community Survey (ACS), County Business Patterns, Population Estimates, LEHD, Religious Congregations and Membership Study, and more. Many of these data sets are available at detailed geographic levels, down to a few city blocks. Some are from countries outside the United States, and others cover world regions.

Print culture ranging from early works imported by colonists to later titles published on American soil on the eve of the Revolution and during the early republic. Almost every seventeenth- and eighteenth-century American title is represented. Subject strengths include Afro-Americana, agriculture, children's literature, education, eighteenth-century imprints, leisure and hobbies, Masonic works, medicine, religion, science and technology, the trades, and women's literature.

Titles documenting the growth and expansion of the United States during the Jacksonian era, from the aftermath of the Panic of 1819 through the Panic of 1837. Covers agriculture, entertainment, literary criticism, domestic arts, technology, medicine (both traditional and alternative), and politics.

Titles reveal a rapidly growing young nation where industrialization, the railroads, regional political differences, and life on the western frontier were daily realities. Subjects covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.

While the Civil War is a focal point, the collection also offers a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war. More detailed subject matter includes psychiatry, gardening, freed African Americans, temperance, the Irish question, Freemasonry, the U.S. Postal Service, and dentistry.

Themes presented in this database reflect a nation that persevered through a most difficult set of circumstances: a bloody civil war that claimed hundreds of thousands of lives, the incorporation of the recently freed African Americans into American life, and a population that rapidly expanded into the Western territories. Broad subject areas covered in the collection reach into every facet of American life, including science, literature, medicine, agriculture, women’s fashion, family life, and religion.