Research Guides: Public Health: Library Databases

Discovery

Library Databases for Scholarly Articles

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to 800 nursing and allied health journals, nursing dissertations, and selected other biomedical journals with many available in full-text. Also available is limited coverage of psychology and management literature.
Public Health (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains core public health literature with access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text and covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business.
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
NLM search engine for Medline and OldMedline databases. This customized portal will identify references for fulltext that is available for free on the Internet and via the library.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and books in life, health, social, and physical sciences and humanities.
Research Library (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines. Research Library is an expansion of, and replacement for, the database titled Periodical Abstracts Research II.
Family Health (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Health information from general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as consumer and news magazines.
Science & Technology Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This collection contains over 800 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
This resource includes citations and some full text to high quality science journals published by Elsevier. Access is on a rolling basis so coverage will be for the current 5-7 years depending upon the title.
Off campus users of ScienceDirect will be asked to create a ScienceDirect account in order to access full text.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science will help you discover articles in the most prestigious scientific journals. While there's no full text directly available here, there are links to help you find full text and/or request articles through Interlibrary Loan. Note that you can limit your search to specific article types (including review articles), date ranges, languages, etc. using the menu on the left once you have submitted your initial search.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of education and educational research, includes both abstracts of published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics. It corresponds to the printed indexes of RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in Education). The EBSCOhost version of the ERIC database includes the searchable Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Political and social issues, with reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
Points of View Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Resources that present multiple sides of an issue to help assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Medical information including nursing, health care systems, pre-clinical sciences, dentistry, and veterinary medicine.
TOPICsearch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Current events database covering social, political, and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other topics. Articles from international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.

Other Library Databases

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Search for evidence-based information on the effects of health care interventions. Includes full text of reviews in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Coverage of political and social issues, with reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.
PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
Citation search for journal articles in health and life sciences.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to modern and historical U.S. census data and demographic information. Explore hundreds of thousands of built-in data indicators related to demography, economy, health, politics, environment, crime and more. Social Explorer brings you professional-quality demographic data from the most trusted sources, including the Decennial Census, American Community Survey (ACS), County Business Patterns, Population Estimates, LEHD, Religious Congregations and Membership Study, and more. Many of these data sets are available at detailed geographic levels, down to a few city blocks. Some are from countries outside the United States, and others cover world regions.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) This link opens in a new window
A clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice. Contains systematic reviews.

Public Health

Librarian

Librarian

Discovery

Library Databases for Scholarly Articles

Other Library Databases