HIS 390: Gardner

Offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. These resources come from contributing organizations such as university libraries, which include many primary source documents and other scholarly materials. The Hathi Trust categorizes its materials using subject headings like those found in a library catalog.

Website run by the National Archives and Records Association, which is a branch of the United States Government. You can search for documents related to the government, military, and other important historical events. Contains a number of online digitized exhibits.

The DPLA aggregates millions of documents from its member institutions (of which the Hathi Trust is a member). These can be searched using keywords and narrowing it down by collection and by organization.

Historical collections (primary documents, sound recordings, images, maps, etc.) that include such topics as advertising, African American history, and women's history.

Long running online resource that contains millions of digital objects from many different cultural heritage organizations. Searching can be a bit cumbersome and digital resources are not always described comprehensively.

A comprehensive catalog of books printed in English or in the English-speaking world through 1800. The British Library is currently experiencing a widespread cyber attack. This has resulted in many of their online sources becoming unavailable. As the British Library works to restore services, websites such as the English Short Title Catalogue may be unavailable.

Research addresses the composition, mediation, reception, survival, and transformation of written communication in material forms from marks on stone to new media.

Encourages the study of the history of printing and related arts and crafts, including calligraphy, typefounding, typography, papermaking, bookbinding, illustration, and publishing

Strives to represent and promote the interests of librarians who work with rare books, manuscripts, and other types of special collections

North America's oldest and largest national professional association dedicated to the needs and interests of archives and archivists

The oldest scholarly society in North America dedicated to the study of books and manuscripts as physical objects.

Houses the largest and most accessible collection of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, periodicals, music, and graphic arts material printed through 1876 in what is now the United States, as well as manuscripts and a substantial collection of secondary texts, bibliographies, and digital resources and reference works related to all aspects of American history and culture before the twentieth century